Eight receive Phedol Literature honours


By A Staff Reporter, Bhaktapur, Sept. 18: Phedol Literature Academy has honoured eight persons from the fields of literature and art.

Former Chancellor of Nepal Academy Ganga Prasad Upreti handed over the honour plaques to them at a function organised in Katunje of Bhaktapur district.

Story writer Ratna Prajapati was presented Phedol Best Fiction Honour-2079 BS for his anthology of stories 'Ritto Rath' while Ganesh Ghimire 'Marmik' received Phedol Best Epic Honor-2079 for his book 'Shree Dhara'.

At the same programme, Upreti presented Phedol Best Book 2076 honour to Matrika Pokhrel for his poetry book 'Mitrata Ko Aakash'.  Likewise, Jaya Chhanchha and Nabaraj Rijal were presented the same honour for 2077 and 2078 BS respectively.

Chhangchha was honoured for his book Niyatra Parichaya while Rijal received the honour for his anthology of short stories Aaba Upranta. 

Distribution of the Honour had been postponed for the last three years due to the COVID- 2019 pandemic. 

Prior to these, Gayatri Bista, Ram Prasad Panta and Saral Sahayatri were awarded with the honour.

At the same function, Ganesh GC gained Phedol Art Honour while Namod Raut and Sapana KC were presented Phedol Incentive Honours. It is informed that the latter were presented from this very year. The Academy was established in 2068 BS in memory of author Ram Mani Dhungel's mother Phem Kumari and father Dornath Dhungel. Author and Academy chair Dhungel had established an endowment fund and started honouring the authors since 2072 BS.

Chairman Dhungel informed that a book is announced the best among the books published within a BS year. “We include only those books that are received for the honour,” he said.

At the function, Phanindra Raj Niraula and Devi Nepal presented papers on writing tendencies of author Ram Mani Dhungel while paintings by Ujjwal Dhungel and Nagendra Paudel were displayed.

How did you feel after reading this news?