Rubina shines in Koshi’s victory


By A Staff Reporter,Kathmandu, Mar. 28: Skipper Rubina Chhetri shone with both ball and bat as Koshi Province notched up a nine-wicket win over Sudurpaschim Province while Madhesh Province recorded its first victory beating host Lalitpur XI in the Lalitpur Mayor’s Cup Women’s T20 Championship at T.U Cricket Ground in Kathmandu on Monday.

With a victory over Sudur Paschim, Koshi Province moved to the second spot with four points from three matches. With an equal four points, Sudur Paschim sits in third place being inferior in net run rate.

APF Club has already booked the final spot remaining at the summit of the league table with six points. The second finalist will be decided from the match between Madhesh Province and Koshi Province scheduled on Tuesday.

Koshi Province easily chased the victory target of 83 runs losing one wicket in the 15.3 overs. Kajal Shrestha smashed the highest 40 runs off 50 balls that included five boundaries. All-rounder skipper Rubina Chhetri contributed 28 runs off 41 balls.

Kabita Joshi grabbed one consolation wicket for victim Sudur Paschim. 

Earlier, Sudur Paschim batted first to collect 82 runs losing all wickets in 18.5 overs. Skipper Chhetri and Apsari Begam claimed three wickets apiece to destroy Sudurpaschim cheaply. 

Bindu Rawal hit the highest of 45-ball 30 runs for Sudur Paschim. Samjhana Khadka (16) and Ritu Kanoujiya (13) were other double-digit scorers for the losing team.

Madhesh register first win

Madhesh Province opened an account to claim fourth place with two points. 

Lalitpur crashed out from the tournament finishing at the bottom with zero points from three matches.

Madhesh chased the target of 97 runs posted by host Lalitpur in the 19.2 overs with the loss of nine wickets.

The middle order Saraswati Kumari scored the highest 33-ball 32 for the winning side. Opener Alisha Yadev hit three boundaries to add 16 runs and Seema Kunwar contributed 15 runs off 12 balls for Madhesh.

Sony Pakhrin and Kritika Marasini grabbed two wickets apiece for Lalitpur.

After opting to bat first, Lalitpur scored 96 runs with a loss of five wickets in 20 overs. 

All-rounder Sony Pakhrin smashed the highest 34 runs for Lalitpur. Laxmi Chaudhary (23) and Shristi Jaisi (15) were the other chief run scorers for the host. 

Saraswati Kumari grabbed two wickets while Kabita Gautam, Roji Kadari and Anuradha Chaudhary contributed one wicket apiece for the winning side.

How did you feel after reading this news?

More from Author

Europe Angered Over Immigrants

Corruption Sapping Local Governments

Saraswati Pratikshya comes up with new novel

Acting President's Eid greetings