Popular faces who lost election


By A Staff Reporter, Kathmandu, Nov.25: A number of influential leaders including party  chairmen, general secretaries, office bearers, senior leaders and sitting and former  ministers have lost the elections to the House of Representatives this time. 

Chairman of the Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal (RPP-N) Kamal Thapa lost the election in Makwanpur-1 while Janata Samajwadi Party-Nepal chair Upendra Yadav lost in Saptari-2.

Thapa was defeated by Deepak Singh of the RPP and Yadav by Janamat Party chair CK Raut.  Thapa got only 25, 434 votes against Singh’s 27, 816 votes. 

Chairman of Janata Samajwadi Party Upendra Yadav lost the election to Janamat Party chairman CK Raut in Saptari with a big margin. Raut garnered 35,042 votes and Yadav got 16,979 votes. 

Senior vice chairman of the CPN-UML and former deputy prime minister Ishwor Pokharel lost election in Kathmandu-5. He was defeated by NC candidate Pradip Paudel who got 15,257 against Pokharel’s 10,172 votes.

UML general secretary Shankar Pokhrel lost the election to CPN-Maoist Centre candidate Rekha Sharma in Dang- 2. Sharma garnered 26,977 votes, and Pokhrel 26,680. 

CPN-Maoist Centre general secretary Dev Gurung lost the election to CPN-UML deputy  general secretary Prithvi Subba Gurung in Lamjung. Prithvi garnered 34,969 votes and Dev got 31,781 votes. 

Similarly, Rastriya Prjatantra Party leader Rabindra Mishra has been defeated by Prakash Man Singh of the Nepali Congress in Kathmandu constituency-1 by a narrow margin of 125 votes. Singh got 7,143 votes while Mishra got 7,018.

Former speaker Onsari Gharti also lost her position in Kathmandu-2. Rastriya Swatantra Party candidate Sobita Gautam defeated Gharti. Gharti garnered 9,449 votes while Gautam gained 1,5229 votes.   

Likewise, sitting tourism minister and CPN (Unified Socialist) leader Jeevan Ram Shrestha lost the election in Kathmandu-8. Swatantra Party candidate Birajbhakta Shrestha secured the post garnering 10,105 votes against minister Shrestha. Jeevan Ram got 4,266 votes.

UML candidate Gokarna Bista defeated Unified Socialist leader Ramkumari Jhakri in Gulmi constituency-2. Bista garnered 28,476 votes and Jhakri’s 26411 votes.  

Nepali Congress leader Krishna Prasad Sitaula, joint general secretary Mahalaxmi Upadhyaya (Dina),  Minister for Youth and Sports Maheshwor Jung Gahatraj, State Minister Umesh Shrestha, UML leaders Mahesh Basnet and Lekh Raj Bhatta and others lost the elections to the HoR.

Sitaula lost the election to Rastriya Prajatantra Party chair Rajendra Lingden for the second time in Jhapa-3. Lingen garnered 40,648 votes while Sitaula received 37,372 votes. 

Upadhayaya lost the election to RPP candidate Deepak Bahadur Singh in Makwanpur-1. Deepak garnered 27,816 votes and Upadhaya got 25,434. 

Likewise, former minister Agni Kharel lost election in Jhapa-1.  

He was defeated by NC general secretary Bishwa Prakash Sharma, who got 39, 624 votes while Kharel got 25, 349 votes. Minister for Youth and Sports Maheshwor Jung Gahatraj lost the election to UML candidate Surya Prasad Dhakal in Banke-1. Dhakal garnered 25,026 votes while Gahatraj got 19,632 votes.

State Minister Shrestha lost the election to Rastriya Swotantra Party chair Ravi Lamichhane in Chitwan-2. Lamichhanne garnered 49,264 votes, and Shrestha 14,983. Shrestha lost the election with the biggest gap of over 34,000.  

Likewise former finance minister and CPN-UML leader Surendra Pandey and former National Planning Commission vice-chair Dr. Bishwo Nath Paudel lost election in Chitawan-1. Rastriya Swotantra Party candidate Hari Dhakal garnered 34,189 votes while Pandey and Paudel garnered 26,608 and 24,990 votes respectively. 

In Bhakatapur-2, CPN-UML leader and former Minister Mahesh Basnet lost election to NC candidate Durlav Thapa. Thapa garnered 23,500 votes and Basnet 22,677. 

 NC leader Bal Bahadur KC lost the election to UML candidate Man Bir Rai in Solukhaubu. Rai garnered 19.324 votes and KC got 16,545 votes. 

NC leader and former minister Sunil Thapa also lost the election to UML candidate Rajendra Rai in Dhankuta. Rai secured 30,101 votes, defeated Thapa secured 28704 with gap 1397. NC leader Krishna Prasad Sitaula lost election from Jhapa-3. 

How did you feel after reading this news?

More from Author

Parliament secretariat's letter ignites controversy

Pele’s Magic, Match And Mediation

'Women leadership deserves support from grassroots'

Fervour For Signature Bridges In Nepal

Nepal sends diplomatic note to India

Germany: 25 arrested on suspicion of planning armed coup

Clean-up campaign concludes at Shivapuri National Park