CPN (Maoist Centre) registers victory in Rolpa and Thawang


Rolpa, May 16 (RSS):  CPN (Maoist Centre) has registered its win in Rolpa municipality and Thawang rural municipality of Rolpa district.    
Surendra Thapa Gharti has been elected to the post of mayor while Geeta Acharya secured victory as deputy mayor in Rolpa municipality.

Thapa obtained 7,603 votes against 3,658 votes of Nepali Congress mayoral candidate Sher Bahadur Thapa.  

In the race of deputy mayor, Maoist candidate Acharya secured 7,441 votes while her arch-rival Pushpa Shrestha of NC got only 3,719.    
Maoist has won nine out of 10 wards whereas NC registered its win in a ward.  

Likewise, Maoist candidate Rishikeshab Budhamagar defeated independent mayoral candidate in Thawang rural municipality by 616 vote margin.    
Budhamagar secured 2,122 votes to become winner.    

Likewise, Sharmila Budhamagar from CPN (Maoist Centre) emerged victorious as the vice-chairperson. She got 2,122 votes while her close contender Ram Bahadur Pun from independent alliance obtained 1,468 votes.    

It may be noted that NC and UML had forged an electoral alliance in Thawang.

How did you feel after reading this news?