Ruling coalition wins more seats in provincial assemblies


By A Staff Reporter,Kathmandu, Nov. 25: Along with the House of Representatives, vote-counting for the provincial assemblies is also underway and, as per the latest results, the ruling coalition is ahead in that race too. 

According to our Jaleshwor correspondent, Abhiram Sharma and Rani Sharma Tiwari from the Loktantrik Samajwadi Party Nepal (LSP-N) have won seats in the Provincial Assembly of Madhes.

Sharma won from Mahottari Constituency 3 ‘A’ and Tiwari won from 3 ‘B’.

In the neighbouring district of Dhanusha, Ram Saroj Yadav of the Nepali Congress (NC) won a seat in the provincial assembly for the second time from Dhanusha Constituency 3 ‘A’, our Janakpur correspondent reports.

In Rautahat, Krishna Prasad Yadav, NC’s Madhes province president, won in Rautahat 1 ‘B’. In 1 ‘A’, Nagendra Sah won, also from the Congress party.

According to our reporter in Tanahun, Hari Bahadur Chuman from CPN (Maoist Centre) won from Tanahun 1 ‘B’. Chuman has been forwarded as the prospective chief minister of Gandaki Province too.

Meanwhile, from Tanahun 1 ‘A’, NC’s Ashok Kumar Shrestha has obtained victory.

In Gorkha, coalition candidates have won in all four constituencies, writes our correspondent in the district. Maoist’s Krishna Dhital, NC’s Nandra Prasad Neupane, CPN (Unified Socialist)’s Phanindra Devkota and Congress’s Surendra Raj Pandey won in the district’s 1 ‘A’, 1 ‘B’, 2 ‘A’ and 2 ‘B’ constituencies respectively.

In Sudurpashchim Province, NC’s Meghraj Khadka secured victory in Achham 1 ‘A’. And in Achham 2 ‘A’, Maoist’s Akkal Bahadur Rawal emerged victorious.

In Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba’s home district of Dadeldhura, a candidate from coalition partner Maoist Centre and an independent have won at the provincial level.

In Dadeldhura 1 ‘A’, Maoist’s Khagaraj Bhatta won while in 1 ‘B’, Dr. Tara Prasad Joshi, who is not affiliated with any political party, won.

In Bajhang too, coalition candidates Prithvi Bahadur Singh and Bhim Bhandari won in both the district’s provincial constituencies.

Over at the other end of the country in Province 1, Man Bahadur Limbu from NC, who replaced the late Shekhar Chandra Thapa as the ruling alliance’s joint candidate in Morang Constituency 3 ‘A’, has won. 

In Panchthar, Unified Socialist’s Kamal Prasad Jabegu won from constituency 1 ‘A’ and Maoist’s Indra Bahadur Angbo won from 1 ‘B’.

In Lumbini Province, NC candidate Anurag Khadka won in Dang 1 (B). He is the son of late NC leader Khum Bahadur Khadka. Likewise, Badshah Kurmi won in Banke 3 ‘B’.

In Bagmati Province, Uttam Joshi has won a seat in the Provincial Assembly from Chitwan 2 ‘B’.

Meanwhile, CPN (UML) has won in Surkhet and Parbat.

UML candidate Yam Lal Kandel won from Surkhet Constituency 2 ‘A’. He had also won from the same constituency in 2017. 

In Parbat, UML’s Bhakta Kunwar and Mitra Lal Basyal won in provincial constituencies Parbat 1 ‘A’ and 1 ‘B’ respectively.

UML had forged electoral alliance with the Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) and Upendra Yadav-led Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal (JSP-N). 

This partnership paid off for RPP candidate Dambar Tamang in Dhading 2 ‘B’ and JSP candidate Ramashish Yadav in Dhanusha 2 ‘B’.

How did you feel after reading this news?

More from Author

Parliament secretariat's letter ignites controversy

Pele’s Magic, Match And Mediation

'Women leadership deserves support from grassroots'

Fervour For Signature Bridges In Nepal

Nepal sends diplomatic note to India

Germany: 25 arrested on suspicion of planning armed coup

Clean-up campaign concludes at Shivapuri National Park