Seven sportspersons honoured


Kathmandu, Aug. 4: Seven sportspersons were honoured with the 'Hamro Khelkud Sarbakalin Samman' for their contributions to society through the sports sector.

At a programme here today, athletes Jit Bahadur KC and Baikuntha Manandhar, footballer Rajukaji Shakya, athletes Sangina Vaidhya, Dipak Bista, cricketer Paras Khadka and swimmer Gaurika Singh were felicitated from the honour on the occasion of the seventh anniversary of, a sports news portal.

The honoured personalities received Rs 25,000 each and a letter of appreciation.

Lawmaker Gagan Thapa, Member Secretary of National Sports Council Tanka Lal Ghising, General Secretary of Nepal Olympic Committee Nilendra Raj Shrestha and others awarded the sportspersons with the honour. 

Jit Bahadur KC is the first international medal winner for Nepal by taking part in the Asian Athletics marathon held in the Philippines.     

Likewise, Baikuntha Manandhar is the first Nepali player to get three consecutive gold medals in the SAG. 

Similarly, Vaidhya is the Asian champion of Taekwondo while Bista is the gold medal winner in the SAG for the four consecutive SAG tournaments after 1999. 

How did you feel after reading this news?