Final results of elections out NC largest party, UML gets highest popular votes


Kathmandu, Dec. 8: The Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday made public the final results of the November 20 elections to the House of Representatives (HoR) and Provincial Assemblies (PA) after concluding the counting of proportional representation (PR) votes. 

According to the EC, the Nepali Congress (NC) has emerged as the largest party by securing 89 seats in 275-member HoR. However, the CPN-UML garnered more popular votes than the NC. It garnered 2,845,641 (30. 69%) PR votes while NC received 2,715,225  (29.29%) votes under PR category. 

The UML has emerged as the second largest party by securing 78 seats in total – 44 under FPTP and 34 under PR category. The NC has won 32 seats under PR category and 57 under FPTP. 

The two big political parties accounted for 47.4 per cent of total votes cast under both the systems. 

However, both the NC and the UML have received less PR votes this time than they did in 2017 election. In 2017, the UML had received around 3.13 million PR votes, while the NC had garnered 3.17million votes. 

The CPN (MC) has become the third largest party by securing 1,175,684  (12.68%) votes under PR category and secured 14 of 110 seats. The party has won 18 seats under FPTP system, totalling 32 HoR seats.  

The CPN (MC) has been losing its popular votes, which is reflected in shrinkage in total votes in PR and total seats in HoR under FPTP system. The party had received 1.30 million PR votes in 2017 election, while it had received 1.44 million PR votes 2013. 

Likewise, the newly formed Rabi Lamichhane-led Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) has emerged as the fourth largest party in the HoR by securing 20 seats (13 seats in PR and seven in FPTP). The party has garnered 1,130,344  (12.19%) popular votes. The CPN (MC) is ahead of RSP in PR votes with the difference of just 45,340 votes.

Similarly, under the PR category, the Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) has won seven seats and Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) and Janamat Party (JP) have won five seats each under PR category. The RPP, JSP and JP have garnered 588,849 (6.35%), 421314 (4.54%) and 394,655 (4.26%) votes respectively under PR system. 

This means that only seven political parties have crossed the threshold of three per cent votes. 

The political parties like Loktantrik Samajwadi Party (LSP), Madhav Kumar Nepal-led CPN (Unified Socialist), Nepal Workers’ and Peasants’ Party, Nagarik Unmukti Party among others have failed to obtain national party status, despite winning more than one FPTP seat in  the HoR.

The CPN (Unified Socialist) received only 298,391 votes. To obtain the national party status, a political party has to win at least one FPTP seat and receive three per cent of the total votes cast in PR category. 

The LSP-N has won four seats in FPTP, Nagarik Unmukti three seats and one each seat by Rastrita Janamorcha and Nepal Workers’ and Peasants’ Party, while five independent candidates have won HoR seats. 

Similarly, the LSP-N has received 167, 367 votes, Nepal Workers’ and Peasants’ Party has received 75,168 votes, Hamro Nepali Party has received 55,743 votes and Mangol National Organisation received 49,00 votes under PR category. 

The political parties would have to submit the list of candidates according to the number of seats they have got, according to the guidelines of the Election Commission and according to the designed cluster. 

The Nepali Congress has also won the highest number of seats in the provincial assemblies. The party has secured 175 seats in seven provincial assemblies, including 64 seats under PR system and 111 under the FPTP category. 

Despite securing highest number of seats under the PR category (70 seats) in the provincial assemblies, the CPN-UML remained in the second position, with 161 seats in total.  

Likewise, the CPN (Maoist Centre) is in the third position winning 81 seats in the provincial assemblies. The party has won 29 seats under PR and 52 seats under FPTP category. 

Similarly, the RPP has emerged as the fourth largest party in the provincial assembly elections, winning 28 seats, 17 under PR and 11 seats under FPTP category. 

Madhav Nepal-led CPN (Unified Socialist) has won only 24 seats in provincial assemblies, including nine seats under PR and 15 seats under FPTP category. 

In the same way, JSP-N has won 20 seats in PA, including nine under PR and 11 under FPTP category; LSP-N has won 12 seats in PA, including nine in FPTP and three in PR category and Janamat Party has won 16 seat in provincial assemblies, including nine in PR and seven under FPTP category. 

According to the Election Commission, Nepal Workers’ and Peasants’ Party has won  three seats of Provincial Assembly of Bagamati Province, including  two seats under PR and one under FPTP category.

How did you feel after reading this news?

More from Author

Urgent anti-dengue measures urged

Four file candidacy for Vice President

Women Catalysts For Socio-Political Transformation

Women representation still remains bare minimum  

Small number of female winners emerging

NC continues to lead vote counts

NC leading, UML following in initial vote counts