First meeting of Seat Allocation Task Force of ruling alliance being held


File photo

By TRN Online, Kathmandu, Aug. 8: The first meeting of the Seat Allocation Task Force formed to suggest a modality for the allocation of seats among the ruling parties in the election of the members of the House of Representatives (HoR) and the Provincial Assembly (PA) is set to be held at 3 pm today.

The 11-member task force is expected to discuss and allocate the number of seats for the ruling parties in the HoR and the PA members' elections slated for November 20. 

The meeting is going to be held at the Prime Minister's residence Baluwatar. 

The Chief Whip of the CPN (Maoist Center) Dev Prasad Gurung has said that the meeting will discuss the matter of seat allocation for the upcoming HoR and PA members elections and contemporary issues.

General Secretary Gagan Kumar Thapa, leader Krishna Prasad Sitaula and Minister for Communication and Information Technology Gyanendra Bahadur Karki from Nepali Congress are in the task force. Similarly, leader Barsha Man Pun and Finance Minister Janardan Sharma are members of the task force representing the CPN (Maoist Center).

From CPN (Unified Socialist) vice chairman Pramesh Hamal and General Secretary Bedu Ram Bhusal, Ram Sahayak Yadav and Rakam Chemjong from Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP), and Himlal Puri and Ananda Sharma from Rashtriya Janamorcha Party are the members of the task force. 

The task force will prepare criteria and modalities for the share of seats of 165 constituencies under the first-past-the-post electoral system and the 330 seats/constituencies of the Provincial Assembly to the ruling parties. 

How did you feel after reading this news?

More from Author

President Paudel observes Indra Jatra festival

Nepal plays a draw against Bangladesh

Kaligandaki corridor road blocked by landslide

RPP Chair Lingden leaves for Qatar