Parliamentary committee's jurisdiction shared among members


Katrhmandu, May 16 : The first meeting of the Education, Health and Information Technology committee under the House of Representatives (HoR) took place today.     

Committee's senior-most member Kaluram Rai presided over the meeting held at the Singha Durbar-based conference hall of the committee. Welcoming to all the members, he informed them about the scope and jurisdiction of the committee.     

The committee comprises 25 members. The meeting of the House of Representatives (HoR) held on last April 28 had endorsed the names of the committee.     

At the meeting, Minster for Health and Population Mohan Bahadur Basnet stressed that the committee should raise the issues of public concern related to health and education as these issued are under the committee's scope of work.     

As per the HoR Regulation, 2079, Rule 173, the committee's jurisdiction includes the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Ministry of Health and Population, Ministry of Communications and Information Technology and Ministry of Youth and Sports.     

The committee has eight members from the CPN (UML), sex members from the Nepali Congress, three members from the CPN (Maoist Centre), two members from the Rastriya Swatantra Party and one each from the CPN (Unified Socialist), Nagarik Unmukti Party, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party, Janata Samajwadi Party, Rastritya Prajatantra Party and Janamat Party. (RSS)

How did you feel after reading this news?