Three file candidacies for NA election


By Our Correspondent , Ghorahi, Jan. 26: Altogether three candidates have filed their nominations for the by-election of the National Assembly to be held on February 8. 

CPN-UML candidate Kumar Dashoudi, Nepali Congress candidate Madhav Prasad Acharya and Nagarik Unmukti Party’s candidate Rajendrabir Rai registered their candidatures for the by-election on Wednesday.

Garhawa Rural Municipality chairman Yam Narayan Pokhrel had proposed the name of Dashoudi for the vacant post and Meena Kumari Shrestha supported his proposal. 

Ruling Alliance candidate Dashoudi went to the Office of Election Officer to register his candidature with UML Secretary Chhabilal Bishwakarma. He had registered his candidacy with the support of alliance parties including the UML, Maoist Centre, Rastriya Prajatantra Party and others. 

Similarly, Madhav Prasad Acharya, the former district president of Nepali Congress in Rolpa, also registered his candidacy. Acharya’s candidacy was  supported by Bhakta Bahadur GC, vice chair of Banglachuli Rural Municipality in Dang and Jograj Chaudhary, the Mayor of Lamhi Municipality.

Nagarik Unmukti Party leader Rajendrabir Rai also registered his candidacy for National Assembly member from Lumbini Province. Rai has registered his candidacy with the support of two province assembly members Dharmaraj Chaudhary and Rajkumar Chaudhary. 

By-election processes have started for the vacant seat of the UML whip Khimlal Bhattarai. He was elected as a member of the National Assembly from CPN-UML but had resigned from his post.

Voting for the by-election will be held on February 8 in Ghorahi. The members of the Provincial Assembly and the heads and deputy heads of the municipality are the voters in the NA member election. The total number of voters in Lumbini Province is 305. 

According to the provincial election office in Dang, of them, the number of province assembly members is 87 and the number of municipal chiefs and deputy chiefs  is 218. 

Nepali Congress has won 48 of 109 municipalities in the province. Similarly, UML has won 27, Maoist Centre 25, Janata Samajwadi Party-Nepal  three, Janamorcha and Loktantrik Samajwadi Party and Rastriya Prajatantra Party has  2 seats each. Similarly, in the 87-member Provincial Assembly, UML has 29, Nepali Congress has 27, Maoist\ Centre has 10, RPP and Nagarik Unmukti Party  four each, JSP-N Loktantrik Samajwadi Party and Janmat 3/3 each, Rastriya Jana Morcha, CPN Unified  Socialist Party won 1/1 and independents 2.

How did you feel after reading this news?