Congress's Koirala wins Biratnagar mayor


By Dhiraj Dahal, Biratnagar, May 21: Nagesh Koirala of the ruling coalition has won the mayor post of Biratnagar Metropolitan City, the only metropolis of Province No. 1.

Koirala, the leading candidate from the Nepali Congress, got 30,170 votes with a lead of 8,715 votes. Similarly, CPN (UML) candidate Shilpa Nirala Karki has won the Deputy Chief by getting a total of 25,860 votes with a margin of 11,461 votes.

Koirala's competitor Sagar Kumar Thapa from CPN (UML) received 21,455 votes. Independent candidate Umesh Kumar Yadav became third with 8,795 votes. Pralhad Prasad Sah of RPP has secured the fourth position with 5,216 votes.

How did you feel after reading this news?

More from Author

Railway Bill passed

11 hurt in Ilam jeep plunge

35 new cases, 18 recoveries in 24 hours

Bust of Prakash Dahal unveiled