Sudurpashchim CM Sodari secures vote of confidence


Chief Minister of the Sudurpashchim province, Dirgha Bahadur Sodari. File Photo

By Awinash Chaudhary, Dhangadhi, May 16: The Chief Minister of the Sudurpashchim province, Dirgha Bahadur Sodari has secured a vote of confidence from the Sudurpashchim Province Assembly on Thursday.

According to the Speaker of the Provincial Assembly Bhim Bahadur Bhandari, CM Sodari got 28 votes in favour and non against which became the majority.

Out of 53 PA members, one needs 27 votes in favour of the majority. A total of 28 members participated in the voting process. There were no votes cast against and in neutral.

Sodari was appointed the Chief Minister of Sudur Paschim Province on April 18.

Province Chief Najir Miya had appointed Sodari, the leader of the parliamentary party of the CPN (Unified Socialist) in Sudur Paschim Province, as per Article 168 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal.

Sodari garnered the support of 27 provincial lawmakers- 10 from CPN (UML), 10 from CPN (Maoist Center), four from CPN (Unified Socialist), two out of seven from Najarik Unamukti Party and one independent lawmaker to become the Sudurpashchim CM.

How did you feel after reading this news?