Monday, 8 March, 2021

Nepal Police thrashes Sudur Paschim State by 99 runs

file photo

Kathmandu, Jan 16: Nepal Police Club set the title clash against Tribhuvan Army Club at the Manmohan Memorial National One-Day Cricket Tournament after thrashing Sudur Paschim State by 99 runs at Inaruwa Stadium, Sunsari on Thursday.

The vital five wickets from Sagar Dhakal helped Police men to secure their spot at the title clash against Tribhuvan Army Club which is scheduled for Saturday.

Army men into the final after beating Bagmati State by 46 run on Wednesday.

The departmental side Police won the toss and elected to bat first and they scored 229 runs with the loss of all wickets in the 49 overs in the allocated 50 overs match.

With the outstanding bowling from Sagar Dhakal guided Police men to title clash as they dismissed Sudur Paschim State at 130 runs in the 33.4 overs in the second semi-final of the match.

The Player of the Match, Dhakal alone took five wickets while Lalit Rajbanshi grabbed three wickets and Lalit Singh Bhandari and Yogendra Singh Karki contributed one wicket apiece in a huge victory of Police men.

Police men made a poor start as its openers duo Sunil Dhamala and Amit Shrestha was back to the pavilion in a single digit. Dhamala out in a 5 runs and Shrestha out in 8 runs but the first order batsman of Police Dipendra Singh Airee and bowler Lalit Singh Bhandari second down batsman Anil Kumar Sah rescued the Police men as built up Police men collapsed inning’s.

Airee contributed his individual half century for Police men, he scored highest 68 runs off 76 balls that included 6 boundaries and 1 six while Bhandari scored 40 runs off 40 balls that included 2 boundaries and 4 sixes and Sah delivered 31 runs off 39 balls that included 4 boundaries.

Similarly, all-rounder Yogendra Singh Karki scored 29 runs off 33 balls that included 4 boundaries and 1 six and Kushal Bhurtel 17 runs off 18 balls that included 1 boundary for Police men.

Likewise, Sher Malla, Binod Lama and Aakash Chand had grabbed three wickets apiece while Santosh Bhatt contributed one wicket for victim Sudur Paschim in the battle.

Sudur Paschim failed to face an attacking bowling from the departmental side in the semi-final as most of its batsmen back to the pavilion without scoring double digit.

The middle order batsman of Sudur Paschim Kiran Thagunna scored 39 runs off 46 balls which included 2 boundaries and 3 sixes while unbeaten Aakash Chand delivered 23 runs off 34 balls that included 2 boundaries and 1 six and opener Khadak Bohara scored 14 runs off 40 balls that included 1 boundary and its opening partner Gajendra Bohora dismissed in the 12 runs off 18 balls that included 2 boundaries.

How do you feel after reading this news?