Saturday, 24 July, 2021

Former skipper Maharjan makes comeback in national team


By A Staff Reporter, Kathmandu, Mar. 25: Nepal's national football team former captain Biraj Maharjan made a comeback in the national team after two years gap for the Three Nations Cup.

Nepali football governing body All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) Wednesday announced the 23-members final squad for the Three Nations Cup 2021. Nepal will take on the Kyrgyzstan Olympic team in their first match of the event on Thursday.

After six years the national team is going to play at Dashrath Stadium. Nepal played their last match on 2015 against India in the World Cup Qualifiers.

Maharjan had played his last international match on June 2, 2019, against Malaysia in a friendly match. He is likely to take retirement from national duty after playing against Bangladesh on Saturday.

Maharjan made an international debut against Pakistan in a friendly match on 2008 March 25 in Pokhara. The 31-year-old Maharjan is the most capped national football player with 72 international matches.

Goalie Kiran Chemjong will skipper the national team. Nepal will take on the Kyrgyzstan Olympic team in their opener of the tournament on Thursday under Chemjong captaincy.

Strikers Nawayug Shrestha, George Prince Karki and Ashish Lama could not make it to the squad. Goalie Bishal Shrestha and Bishal Sunwar also could not become the choice of Acting coach Bal Gopal Maharjan. Similarly, Defenders Pasang Lama, Suraj BK and Bikash Khawas also failed to secure their spot in the team. Mid-fielder Santosh Tamang and Hemant Thapa Magar were also excluded.

Coach Maharjan has included new five faces in the final squad. Defenders duo Nishan Khadka and T-shiring Gurung, goalie Deepak Karki and Mid-fielders Tri Dev Gurung and Sanjok Rai have confirmed their spot in the squad. national team.

Squad: (Gks) Kiran Chemjong, Bikesh Kuthu and Deepak Karki, (Dfds) Ranjit Dhimal, Nishan Khadka, Rohit Chand, Anant Tamang, Dinesh Rajbanshi, Ajit Bhandari and Biraj Maharjan, T-shhiring, (Mfds) Tri Dev Gurung, Sujal Shrestha, Tej Tamang, Arik Bista, Sanjog Rai, Bishal Rai, Sunil Bal and Rabi Sankar Paswan, (Fwds) Anjan Bista, Darshan Gurung, Abhishek Rijal and Bharat Khawas