Friday, 5 June, 2020

Students, youth in Terai demonstrate against Indian map

Students protesting at Belahaiya, along Nepal-India border

By Our Correspondents

Bhairahawa, Rajbiraj, Kalaiya, Sarlahi, Nov. 8

Sister organisations of different political parties and people on Friday held demonstrations in different districts of the Terai objecting to the inclusion of Kalapani, Lipulekh and Limpiyadhura of Nepal in the Indian territory in a new political map of India.

A protest rally was held at Belahaiya, along Nepal-India border by the Rupandehi Area-3 of All Nepal National Independent Student’s Union (ANNISU), a wing of Nepal Communist Party (NCP).

The ANNISU demanded with the concerned authority for rectifying the Indian map through diplomatic channels.

The demonstrators chanted slogans opposing the inclusion on Nepali territory in the new Indian map.  

The locals were seen supporting ANNISU in the demonstration.

“Both Nepal and India should bilaterally resolve this issue” said local leader Arjun Giri. “Even though Nepal is a small country, We, Nepalis are not weak when it comes to safeguarding our sovereignty and territory.”

The ANNISU also warned of staging a stronger demonstration if the new map was not immediately rectified.

Saroj Thakuri, chairman of Bhairahawa Multiple Campus Committee, called all the Nepalis to unite together to prevent anyone from grabbing even an inch of Nepal’s territory.

Likewise, Sister organisation of Nepali Congress (NC) Nepal Student’s Union (NSU) and Tarun Dal jointly staged a protest against the map at Sahid Chowk, Neejgadh in Bara district.

Participants of the demonstration against India’s new political map carried different banners and placards. Addressing a corner meeting after the rally, Madhu Timalsina, leader of NSU, stressed the need for unity among all Nepalis against the imperialistic behaviour of India.

Leaders Chitra Kumar Timalsina, Pema Siddhi Lama, Mahesh Kumar, Nabaraj Timilsina, Asish Tamang and Bhai Kaji Shrestha who addressed the meeting had spoken against the inclusion.

Likewise, in Lalbandhi, Hariwan and Malangawa of Sarlahi, the NSU and ANNISU separately demonstrated, opposing the map of India.

NSU leaders Pramod Baral, Bishwa Mitra Rijal, Yubaraj Devkota, Manoj Bakhrel and Abhimanyu Chaudhary had demanded that the India should rectify its new map.

How do you feel after reading this news?