Thursday, 29 July, 2021

UML directs its lawmakers to resign from Karnali Province minister

Central office of the CPN (UML)

Karnali, June 18: The Karnali Province Parliamentary Party meeting of the CPN (UML) held today directed the party’s three ministers to immediately quit their post from the CPN (Maoist Centre) led province government.

Earlier on April 16, UML Province Assembly members Prakash Jwala, Ammar Bahadur Thapa, Kurma Raj Shahi and Nanda Singh Buda had voted for Maoist Centre’s leader Mahendra Bahadudr Shahi as the Chief Minister of the Karnali Province, breaching the party’s whip.

The meeting presided over by parliamentary party leader Yamlal Kandel directed Thapa, Shahi and Budha to sit in the opposition bench by resigning from the minister.

As they crossed the floor despite the party’s whip, the four Province Assembly members were sacked from their posts as well as the party’s general member too.

However, their post was reinstated after the Supreme Court’s interim order.