Wednesday, 23 September, 2020

Odd-even system in effect again, prohibition orders in 14 districts


By A Staff Reporter
Kathmandu, Aug. 6: With the rise in COVID-19 cases in the Kathmandu Valley and other urban areas, the government has again imposed odd and even number plate system in all types of vehicles except for those of essential services.
The system will come into effect from Thursday (August 6), according to a notice of issued by the ministry Wednesday evening.
According to Joint Secretary and spokesperson at the Ministry of Home Affairs Chakra Bahadur Budha, the odd and even plate number system will come into effect in the Kathmandu Valley and all the districts having more than 200 active cases of the coronavirus.
All the District Administration Offices across the country were instructed to strictly implement the order of the Ministry from Thursday onwards in all the districts having 200 or more active COVID-19 cases.
Joint Secretary Budha also said the Ministry has also instructed the DAOs to strictly monitor and implement the restriction imposed on the entry of vehicles to the Kathmandu Valley and the city areas of the districts where there are more than 200 active cases of the virus from 9:00 pm in the night to 5:00 am in the morning.
The DAOs were also instructed to nab the people violating the health protocols, fine individuals, institutions and any project owners or operators if found violating the health protocols in their work places.
The Home Ministry has also given authority to the District COVID-19 Crisis Management Centre (DCCMC) to shut all the markets and restrict movements and impose further prohibition order if the situation deteriorates and manage for additional tests of the virus.
Likewise, the government told the DAOs to strictly monitor and prohibit cross border movements of people and vehicles. The Home Ministry has also prohibited and ordered the DAOs to monitor party or mass gathering of people organised in any restaurant, hotel and party venue during this period.
Meanwhile, 14 district administration offices (DAOs) have
imposed partial to full prohibition orders to control the cases of coronavirus.
According to a notice issued by the Home Ministry on Wednesday afternoon, a complete prohibition order was imposed across the districts in Saptari, Banke, Parsa, Bara, Sarlahi and Syangja. According to the notice, the prohibition order imposed in these six districts will continue until further notice.
Similarly, partial prohibition orders were implemented in Marma Rural Municipality of Darchula district, Thalara Rural Municipality ward no. 5 and Kedarrashyu Rural Municipality of ward nos. 6 and 7 in Bajhang district and ward nos. 6, 7, and 8 of Baraha Municipality in Sunsari district.
Likewise, partial prohibition order was imposed in all wards of Birtamod Municipality and Arjundhara in Jhapa district, Jaleshwore Municipality and Mahottari Rural Municipality in Mahottari district, Biratnagar Metropolitan City area in Morang district, Bohare Bhanjyang in the east, Naya Chautara in the west, Bageshwori Bhanjyang in the north, Pokhari Danda, and Hiletole area in Nuwakot district.
According to the notice, the DAO of Dhanusha imposed partial prohibition order in Janakpurdham Sub-Metropolitan City and Chhireshworenath Municipality of the district until further notice.


How do you feel after reading this news?