Sunday, 11 April, 2021

21 candidates including 10 independent in race


Pokhara, Nov 10: A total of 21 candidates are in the fray for the seat of the member of House of Representatives representing Kaski constituency no. 2. A total of 22 candidates had filed their nomination on November 7. Of them, one independent candidate has withdrawn his candidacy, according to Office of the Election Officer.
The Office published the final list of candidates on Sunday. Accordingly, candidates representing 11 political parties and 10 independent candidates are competing for the seat that was left vacant after the demise of erstwhile MP Rabindra Adhikari, who died in a helicopter crash.
Among those in the fray include ruling NCP's Bidya Bhattarai, NC's Khem Raj Poudel, NC (BP)'s Chandra Bahadur Ranabhat, Teknath Bhandari of CPN (ML), Dharma Raj Gurung of Socialist Party and Riyaj Gurung of Mangol National Organization.
Likewise, Rajani KC of Sajha Party, RPP's Rom Bahadur Bhandari, Purna Bahadur Rana of Rastriya Janamukti Party, Bir Bahadur Biswakarma of Desbhakta Samaj Party and Ganga Malla from RPP (United) are also in the competition.
The candidates taking part in the elections as independent candidates are Umanath Gautam, Kamal Jung Kunwar, Jamuna Sharma, Dipak Regmi and Nawaraj Bastola. Likewise, independent candidates Yagya Prasad Pangeni, Rana Bahadur Damai, Laxmi Kumari Bhujel, Sunil Bahadur Koirala and Sunil Bhusal are also in the fray.