Monday, 25 January, 2021

CEO Regmi held on copyright charge


By A Staff Reporter
Kathmandu, Jan.13: Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Bindabasini Music Leena Sharma Regmi was arrested in Kathmandu on Monday
Police arrested her on the basis of a complaint filed against the company on copyright violation. Metropolitan Police Teku spokesperson Pramesh Bista confirmed Regmi’s arrest.
She has been detained on the basis of a complaint lodged against her regarding copyright infringement, Bista told The Rising Nepal.
An investigation has begun and the police will move forward according to procedures, said Bista.
Singer Pramod Kharel had lodged a complaint in the police alleging that Bindabasini Music had infringed his copyright.
A few days ago, 57 singers had signed a petition at the Metropolitan Police, Teku, Kathmandu, demanding action against the director of Bindabasini Music for insulting singer Kharel.
In the petition, it was mentioned that Subash Regmi (husband of Leena and the director of the music company) had insulted singer Kharel on social media using abusive language.
The petition reads, “Our attention has been drawn towards the abusive, insulting and unjust remarks made by Regmi ignoring the goodwill request of Kharel.”
Singer Kharel claimed that he asked Bindabasini Music to return his ‘Pranay' album as per the rules, stating that the album was produced with his own investment and he had its copyright.
Singer Kharel has shared in the social networking site Facebook that he has given the right to Bindabasini Music for five years for the sale, distribution and publication of his third music album 'Pranay' which was released in 2010.
He said he received Rs, 110,000 and the company has agreed to give him Rs. 100,000 for the production of the video and Rs, 200,000 for the promotion. Kharel also said that he had also agreed to become a shareholder of the income only after the company was secure by collecting Rs. 410,000 from the royalty and income.
Singers Pramod Kharel, Laxman Shesh, Rajesh Payal Rai, Shiv Pariyar, Satyaraj Acharya, Swarupraj Acharya, Indira Joshi, Dheeraj Rai, Udesh Shrestha, Arjun Pokhrel, Kamal Khatri, Tulsi Parajuli, Kaliprasad Baskota, Chetan Sapkota, Basant Sapkota, Anju Pant, Ram Krishna Dhakal, Anand Karki, Deepak Bajracharya, Santosh Lama, James Pradhan, Raj Sigdel and others signed the petition demanding action against the operator of Bindabasini Music. 

How do you feel after reading this news?