Tuesday, 28 September, 2021

Visit Nepal Year 2020 launched in Seoul


By A Staff reporter
Kathmandu, Oct. 17:The Visit Nepal Year 2020 Secretariat, in cooperation with the Nepali Embassy of the Republic of Korea (RoK), Nepal-Korea Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Korea Tour and Trekking Operators Association of Nepal (KTTOAN), launched the Visit Nepal Year 2020 campaign in Seoul on Wednesday.
At the event, Suraj Vaidya, National Programme Coordinator of VNY 2020, highlighted the objective of the national tourism campaign and assured that Nepal would offer new tourism products and adventure activities for the year 2020.
Vaidya added that tourism for Nepal was an important sector as it was a backbone of the national economy, read a press statement issued by the VNY 2020 Secretariat from Seoul.
Similarly, Member of Parliament of Korea’s Democratic Party and Vice chairman of Korea-Nepal Parliamentary Friendship Committee Oh Young Hoon hoped that more Korean tourists would visit Nepal during the VNY 2020.
“The event will become a fundamental asset underpinning, our bilateral relations and serve as an indispensable opportunity to further our cooperation and exchange”.
Ram Singh Thapa, Chargé d’Affaires at the Nepali Embassy, informed that more than 37,000 Korean tourists visited Nepal in 2018.
On the occasion, legendary Korean alpinists Captain Um Hong Gil and Van Sang San were declared as Goodwill Tourism Ambassadors recognising their roles in promoting Nepal as an important tourist destination in Korea.
Similarly, distinguished personalities from the tourism sector in Korea and those who had helped Nepal after the Earthquake of 2015 were also facilitated. The awardees included Um Hong Gil Human Foundation, Good Hands, Solidarity for Asian Human Rights and Culture, Black Yak, Hana Tour Business Services Inc, Hyecho Trekking and Silk Road Travel Service Company Limited.
Amar B. Shahi, President of KTTOAN, said that his association aimed at promoting Nepal among Koreans and provide quality services and safety to tourists.